exceptional authority stemming in part from the success of the party at an election. The prime minister chooses his Cabinet. When a member of Cabinet resigns, the remainder of the Cabinet is undisturbed; when the prime minister vacates his office, this act normally carries with it the resignation of all those in the Cabinet.

Part of the prime minister's authority lies in his prerogative to recommend dissolution of Parliament. This prerogative, which in most circumstances permits him to precipitate an election, is a source of considerable power both in his dealings with colleagues and with the opposition parties in the House. The prime minister is also responsible for organization of the Cabinet and its committees; for the organization and functions of his own office, as well as the Privy Council and federal-provincial relations offices; and for the allocation of responsibilities between ministers.

Another source of the prime minister's authority derives from the appointments which he recommends including privy councillors, Cabinet ministers, lieutenant-governors of the provinces, provincial administrators, speakers of the Senate, chief justices of all courts, senators and certain senior executives of the public service. The prime minister also recommends the appointment of a new Governor General to the Sovereign, although this normally follows consultation with his Cabinet.

Following are the prime ministers since Confederation, with dates of administrations:

Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald, July 1, 1867 - November 5, 1873

Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, November 7, 1873 - October 9, 1878

Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald, October 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891

Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott, June 16, 1891 - November 24, 1892

Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson, December 5, 1892 - December 12, 1894

Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, December 21, 1894 - April 27, 1896

Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896

Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, July 11, 1896 - October 6, 1911

Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden, October 10, 1911 — October 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration)

Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden, October 12, 1917 — July 10, 1920 (Unionist Administration)
Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, July 10, 1920 — December 29, 1921 (Unionist — National Liberal and Conservative Party)

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, December 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926

Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, June 29, 1926 - September 25, 1926

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, September 25, 1926 - August 6, 1930

Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett, August 7, 1930 - October 23, 1935

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, October 23, 1935 - November 15, 1948

Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St-Laurent, November 15, 1948 - June 21, 1957

Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker, June 21, 1957 - April 22, 1963

Rt. Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson, April 22, 1963 - April 20, 1968

Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, April 20, 1968 - . . .

The Cabinet. The Cabinet's primary responsibility in the Canadian political system is to determine priorities among the demands expressed by the people and to define policies to meet those demands. The Cabinet is a committee of ministers chosen by the prime minister, generally from among members of the House of Commons, although one or two Cabinet ministers are usually chosen from the Senate including the leader of the government in the Senate. It is unusual for a senator to head a government department because the constitution provides that measures for appropriating public funds or imposing taxes must originate in the Commons. If a senator headed a department, another minister in the Commons would have to speak on his behalf on its affairs.

In May 1978, the following were members of the 20th ministry according to precedence:

Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen Minister of Finance, Hon. Jean Chrétien Minister of Labour, Hon. John Carr Munro Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Hon. Stanley Ronald Basford